bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017-18

Saurashtra end Andhra’s winning streak to enter final

Fifties by Ravindra Jadeja, Vasavada sets-up game; Dharmendra Jadeja picks 4/40

Saurashtra pulled off a 59-run win over Andhra to book their place opposite Karnataka in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017-18 final in New Delhi. Boosted by Ravindra Jadeja and Aript Vasavda’s half-centuries, the Cheteshwar Pujara-led team set the opponents a 256-run target. Dharmendra Jadeja (4/40) then helped wrap-up Andhra for 196 in the semi-final clash.

Defending 255, Shaurya Sanandia gave Saurashtra their first breakthrough with the wicket of Ashiwn Hebber with 21 runs on the board. Opener KS Bharat then stitched a 44-run stand with Hanuma Vihari before holing out to deep mid-wicket. The skipper then edged Prerak Mankad to the wicketkeeper and followed him back to the pavilion leaving the team on 71 for three. Ricky Bhui, who was looking to build the innings with B Sumanth departed looking for a single. Just as the partnership was taking shape, the middle-order bat, sent back by his partner, was run out by Ravindra Jadeja.

With DB Ravi Teja, Sumanth then looked to rebuild the innings and the duo added 59 runs for the fifth wicket until the latter looking to sweep D Jadeja over mid-wicket, was caught near the fence by substitute HR Barad. And with KV Sasikanth being adjudged lbw off the next ball, Andhra were wobbling at 150 for six. After 24 runs while Ravi Teja stood stoically at one end, Siva Kumar looking to sweep the spinner, only managed to hit the ball high in the air and was caught by Avi Barot. Later in the over, Karthik Raman too departed taking the aerial route leaving the side on 174 for eight.

Teja, who kept on losing partners, was bowled by Sanandia for 42 leaving Andhra on 190 for nine. In the next over, Kamlesh Makwana accounted for Ayyappa Bandaru to bowl the side out.

After winning the toss, Siva Kumar (2/19) had got Andhra off to a good start. The pacer bowled a tight line to keep the Saurashtra batsmen in check. He claimed Barot in his second over to leave the side on 11 for one and forced an edge from Jani in his next. Pushed on the back-foot by the pacer, Pujara and Samarth Vyas worked to revive the innings. Biding their time at the crease, the duo had put together 49 runs for the third wicket until the opener was bowled by Raman. The bowler followed up with the wicket of the Saurashtra skipper in his next to leave the team on 69 for four.

Vasavada then joined Ravindra Jadeja in rescuing the innings. The pair watchfully shaped the innings as they settled in. In a 113-run stand, they had taken Saurashtra to 182 when Raman struck again to end a flourishing partnership. While Vasavada was sent back by the bowler for 58, Ravindra Jadeja was run out in the next leaving the team on 183 for six.

Mankad then looked to carry the innings forward with the lower-order. He had built a 44-run partnership with Makwana until a fuller delivery from Bandaru uprooted the No 8 batsman’s stumps and castled D Jadeja off the next. 17 runs later Sasikanth removed Sanandia leaving the side on 244 for nine.

Mankad, who had been running out of partners then departed holing out to long on with five balls still left in the innings; ending the innings on 255.

Click here for scorecard: 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Virat Kohli-led India presented with ICC Test Championship Mace

India ensured the number one spot on the ICC Test Team Rankings and a prize of $ 1 million after their victory in the Johannesburg Test against South Africa
Virat Kohli (captain) of India receives the test mace  During the 3rd KFC Twenty Twenty International , T20i, match between South Africa and India held at the Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town, South Africa on the 24th February 2018

Photo by: Ron Gaunt / BCCI / SPORTZPICS

India captain Virat Kohli was today presented with the prestigious ICC Test Championship Mace as his team retained the top spot in the ICC Test Team Rankings.

On behalf of the ICC, the mace was presented by ICC Cricket Hall of Famers Sunil Gavaskar and Graeme Pollock at a ceremony in Cape Town at the conclusion of India’s tour of South Africa.

India ensured the number one spot on the ICC Test Team Rankings and a prize of $ 1 million after their victory in the Johannesburg Test against South Africa last month ensured that no team can move ahead of them in the Test rankings at the 3 April cut-off date.

India won the prize for a second year running and have now been at the top of the rankings since October 2016. They have also been at the top two times before under Kohli – in January-February 2016 and in August 2016. India’s longest stint at the number-one position was from November 2009 to August 2011, when Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the captain.

The other captains to have received the mace are Steve Waugh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Steve Smith (all Australia), Andrew Strauss (England), Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla (both South Africa) and Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan).

India captain Virat Kohli: “It’s truly a great feeling to hold the ICC Test Championship mace again, which is an acknowledgement of our success in the truest format of the game.

“We’re proud of the way we have performed in Test matches over the past couple of years and our performances have reflected in the rankings. The quality of a side is judged in the way players step up when needed, and that is what our boys have done time and again.

“It is heartening to be at the top of the Test rankings in an era when it’s challenging to do consistently well across formats. But that is something that we have managed fairly well and something that I’d like my team to continue doing with their hard work and determination.

“I’d like to thank all players who have been part of our squads during this period and also the support staff for contributing to our success and for helping out in different aspects of the game. I’d also like to thank all our fans for supporting us across the globe.”

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson: “India has been simply outstanding in Test cricket over the last twelve months and I’d like to congratulate Virat and his team for retaining the Mace. They have produced some memorable moments that will go down in Test match history.

“They are certainly deserving of their number one ranking doing so much to attract fans around the world to Test cricket with their entertaining and attacking style of play and great quality of cricket.”

ICC Cricket Hall of Famer Sunil Gavaskar: “It’s really nice to be handing over the ICC Test Championship mace once again to the Indian captain. It’s really a huge achievement to do well continuously in Test cricket and Virat should be a really proud man to have led his side to such success in this format.

“Test cricket always tests the class of players and to be acknowledged as the best in the format by the game’s world governing body is really a moment of great pride. Congratulations to Virat and the boys for this accomplishment and wish them all the best for the future.”

ICC Cricket Hall of Famer Graeme Pollock: “It’s a privilege to be part of this occasion. I’d like to congratulate the Indian team for their consistent performances in Test cricket and Virat for leading the team to continued success.

“It’s a big achievement to become the best in any field and it’s even more difficult to remain at the top. Virat and his boys have done that and deserve every bit of praise in this regard. This shows their fortitude and I am sure they are destined for more success. I wish them all the best for the coming years.”


CommentsBack to article