bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch
India's tour of South Africa, 2018

India secure No. 1 ODI status

India, the top-ranked Test side, have also sealed the first spot in the ODI rankings following their maiden series win in South Africa

India have cemented their number-one ranking in the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings after victory in Tuesday’s match in Port Elizabeth, which confirmed that they will finish the series on top of the table irrespective of how the final match in Centurion pans out.

India had entered the six-match series in second position on 119 points, two points behind leaders South Africa. After taking a 4-1 lead, India have moved to 122 points, while South Africa have dropped to 118 points.

Even if South Africa wins on Friday, India will remain No.1 on 121 points, while South Africa will end on 119 points. In contrast, if India wins the series 5-1, then they will finish on 123 points, while South Africa will end on 117 points.

India had started the series fully aware that they would have to win the series by 4-2 or better if they were to add No.1 ODI ranking to their No.1 Test ranking..

Virat Kohli’s side leapfrogged the Proteas into number-one position after taking a 2-0 lead, but required two more wins to ensure that they finished in this position at the end of the series. India remained on course when they won the Cape Town ODI, but South Africa pulled one back in Johannesburg to keep alive their chances of drawing the series at three-all, which, in turn, would have helped it to finish the series in number-one position.

This is the first time since October 2017 and fifth time overall that India have finished on top of the ODI rankings following the conclusion of a series since rising to the top for the first time in January 2013.

Below are the details of when India have been the number-one ranked ODI side:

Rank    Team              Points

1.       India                  122

  1.   South Africa       118
  2.   England             116
  3.   New Zealand      115
  4.   Australia            112
  5.   Pakistan             96
  6.   Bangladesh         90
  7.   Sri Lanka            84
  8.   Windies              76
  9.   Afghanistan         53
  10.   Zimbabwe           52
  11.   Ireland                44

CommentsBack to article

India Women ease to seven-wicket win in 1st T20I

Mithali Raj hits unbeaten 54; Jemimah Rodrigues impress on debut

With an unbeaten half-century, Mithali Raj (54* off 48) took India Women to a convincing seven-wicket win over Proteas Women in the first T20I at the Senwes Park, Potchefstroom. While the opener held one end up, Smriti Mandhana (28 off 15), debutant Jemimah Rodrigues (37 off 27) and Veda Krishnamurthy (37* off 22) partnered her in overhauling the 165-run chase with quick-fire knocks.

Debutant Pooja Vastrakar bowled a quiet first over after Harmanpreet Kaur elected to field in the first of the five-match series. However, L Lee took on Shikha Pandey in the next to garner 11 runs to set the momentum for the innings.

With D van Neikerk she added 26 runs for the opening stand before hitting Pandey to Harmanpreet Kaur at mid-off. S Luus, who then joined her skipper returned 36 runs later. After hitting Vastrakar for a four and six, the No 3 bat departed taking the aerial route off the last ball.

The SA skipper was the next to be dismissed; trapped lbw by Anuja Patil leaving SA on 84 for three in the 12th over. M du Preez and N de Klerk then worked to add to the flow of runs. While the Indian bowlers had done well to keep the flow of runs in check the duo had taken the Proteas Women to 130 when du Preez was sent back for 31 by Patil with Krishnamurthy taking a good running catch. With nine balls left in the innings, C Tryon came to the crease and smashed 32 off seven balls to pose India a competitive target. After hitting Patil for a boundary and six over long-on, she slammed Pandey for two sixes and two boundaries in the last over to help SA to 164 for four.

While Pandey had conceded 23 runs off the last over, Smriti Mandhana minimised the last over’s impact by clobbering M Kapp in the first over of the Indian innings. Mithali Raj collected a boundary off the first ball through slips, and the left-hand bat plucked two fours and a six to help India to 20 runs off the first over. Couple of sedate overs later, the duo collected 17 off Ismail to maintain the upper-hand.

However, with the visitors on 47, they lost two wickets in succession in the fifth over. While Mandhana perished handing a catch to van Neikerk in the cover region, Harmanpreet was run out off the next delivery. Rodrigues then joined Mithali in rebuilding the innings. They had taken India to 116 when the debutant was sent back by van Neikerk. Veda Krishnamurthy then joined the opener in the middle.

While Mithali continued to anchor the innings, the middle-order bat took on the bowlers from the word go. She attacked Ntozakhe to pick 16 off the over to close in on the target. As they attacked, Mithali brought up her 11th T20I half-century. With India in the driver’s seat, Krishnamurthy then lofted Tryon for six to take India to the target with seven balls to spare.

Brief scorecard: SA 164/4 in 20 overs (D van Neikerk 38, M du Preez 31, A Patil 2/23) lost to India 168/3 in 18.5 overs (M Raj 54*, V Krishnamurthy 37*, J Rodrigues 37, S Mandhana 28) by seven wickets.   

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article