bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch


No current live series

Supreme Court Appointed Committee of Administrators' advisory

September 24, 2019



1.              This advisory is being issued in light of the order passed by the Hon’ble Supreme Court on 20th September, 2019 wherein the Hon’ble Supreme Court has inter alia directed that, ‘disqualification shall be confined only to those who had held the post of “Office Bearers” of the Cricket Associations’.

It is the respectful understanding of the Committee of Administrators (“COA”) that the said direction relaxes the disqualification in Rule 6(5)(f) and Rule 14 (3)(f) of the BCCI Constitution and the pari materia provisions in the constitutions of the member State Associations. The relaxation is that the 9 year period mentioned in the said rules is to be computed by taking into account only the period served by individuals as “Office Bearers” cumulatively [without adding or taking into account the period served in any other position such as Member of a Governing Council or Managing Committee, etc.].

All other disqualifications remain in full force viz. those contained in Rule 6(5) (a) to (e) and (g) and Rule 14 (3)(a) to (e) and (g). 


2.              The COA is duly implementing the reforms as approved by the Hon’ble Supreme Court vide its judgments dated 18th July, 2016 and 9th August, 2018, as well as the order dated 20th September, 2019.



3.              The member State Associations and their respective electoral officers are directed not to re-amend their constitutions as already approved by the COA in light of the judgment dated 9th August, 2018. The member State Associations are also directed to conduct the elections in accordance with the constitution approved by the COA in terms of the order of the Hon’ble Supreme Court dated 9th August, 2018 and the relaxation granted by the Hon’ble Supreme Court in its order dated 20th September, 2019, as explained in paragraph 1 above. The State Associations who have not brought their constitutions in line with the BCCI Constitution run the risk of their election results not being recognised.



4.              Further, in order to facilitate and secure compliance by various State Associations and for conduct of elections in the member State Associations in accordance with the judgment dated 18th July 2016 and 9th August, 2018 and any further order and judgement that the Hon’ble Supreme Court may be pleased to pass, the COA hereby extends the date for completion of election by member State Associations to 4th October, 2019. Further, the date of BCCI election is extended by one day in view of the voting in the Legislative Assembly elections in the states of Maharashtra and Haryana on 21st October, 2019. Accordingly, the election date for BCCI stands postponed to 23rd October, 2019.


The Advisory dated 16th September 2019 issued by the COA stands modified accordingly.


Dated this 24th September 2019.


Issued by:

Supreme Court Appointed Committee of Administrators


CommentsBack to article

Umesh Yadav replaces Jasprit Bumrah in India's Test squad

Jasprit Bumrah has sustained a minor stress fracture in his lower back and has been ruled out of the upcoming Test series against South Africa
Umesh Yadav  during the Indian practice session at the Sir Viv Richards Stadium, Antigua on the 21st August 2019

Photo by Ron Gaunt / SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Media Advisory


September 24, 2019


Team India fast bowler Mr. Jasprit Bumrah has sustained a minor stress fracture in his lower back and has been ruled out of the upcoming Paytm Freedom Series for Gandhi-Mandela Trophy against South Africa. The injury was detected during a routine radiological screening. He will now undergo rehabilitation at NCA and will be monitored by the BCCI Medical Team.


The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Mr. Umesh Yadav as Bumrah’s replacement. 


South Africa’s Tour of India – 2019 (Test series)

Sr. No.





2nd to 6th October

1st Test



10th to 14th October

2nd Test



19th to 23rd October

3rd Test



India’s squad for 3 Tests: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill


MSK Prasad

Chairman, Senior Selection Committee



CommentsBack to article