bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch


No current live series

Yashasvi Jaiswal becomes youngest to register List-A double hundred

It was a day that Mumbai batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal would remember for the rest of his life. On Wednesday, playing against Jharkhand in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy, the 17-year old smashed his way into record books by becoming the youngest player to score a List-A double century breaking the previous record by almost three years.


Yashasvi became the 7th Indian to score a double century in List A cricket after Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma (thrice), Shikhar Dhawan, KV Kaushal and Sanju Samson. Jaiswal’s double hundred came a few days after Kerala’s Sanju Samson became the fastest Indian to score a double century.


Scoring 203 off just 154 balls, Jaiswal hit 12 sixes and 17 boundaries against a bowling attack that boasted of the experienced Varun Aaron & Shahbaz Nadeem. Mumbai, as a result put up 358/3 on the board and beat Jharkhand by 39 runs. This was Jaiswal’s third hundred in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy.   






CommentsBack to article

India’s playing XI for first Test announced

Rohit Sharma set to open the innings for India in Test cricket for the first time

The Indian team management announced the playing XI for the first Test of Paytm Freedom Series for Gandhi-Mandela Trophy against South Africa. The Test beginning on October 2, the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi will be played at the ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam.

While Virat Kohli will continue to lead the side and Ajinkya Rahane will be his deputy, the upcoming Test will witness Rohit Sharma, India’s vice-captain in the limited overs format, opening the batting against the red ball.

Wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha, who was sidelined following a shoulder injury, will stand behind the stumps for the first time since he last played a Test in January 2018. It was Rishabh Pant who kept wickets during India’s last Test series in the Caribbean.

The Indian captain called him the best wicket-keeper in the world currently and said that he was quite close to breaking into the XI in the Caribbean too. “Saha’s keeping credentials are there for everyone to see. He's played well for us whenever he's got a chance with the bat for us also. It was unfortunate that he was out for such a long period with an injury, and according to me he's the best keeper in the world. In these conditions, and with what he's done for us in the past, he'll start for us,” Virat said at the pre-match press conference on Tuesday.

R Ashwin, India’s premier off spinner, will also return to the playing XI following his last outing in the Adelaide Test. Like Saha, Ashwin too was part of the Indian squad but did not feature in any of the three Tests in the Caribbean. The spin bowling duties will be shared by Ravindra Jadeja and India also have an additional option in Hanuma Vihari.

Team India for first Test:
Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wicet-keeper), Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

CommentsBack to article