bcci.tv offered in: हिंदी Switch

Tamil Nadu beat India ‘B’ to lift Deodhar Trophy 2016-17

Dinesh Karthik (126) sets up game for TN in title clash

With a 42–run victory over India ‘B’ in the final, Tamil Nadu claimed the Prof. DB Deodhar Trophy and finished the 2016-17 season on a high. The Vijay Hazare Trophy champions were lifted to 303 for nine by Dinesh Karthik (126) after Dhawal Kulkarni (5/39) had reduced them to 39 for three in the first eleven overs. In their defence of 303, the TN spinners then wrecked the India ‘B’ lineup after M Mohammed dismissed Parthiv Patel in the fourth over to set the ball rolling. Rahil Shah claimed three wickets while R Sai Kishore picked two wickets. M Ashwin and MS Washington Sundar took a wicket each.

After the Tamil Nadu captain Vijay Shankar elected to bat first, Kulkarni caught Kaushik Gandhi off his own bowling with 24 runs on the board. In his next over, Kulkarni returned to account for M Ashwin – with the score still stuck on 24. Kulkarni then followed up with the wicket of Ganga Sridhar Raju in the 11th over to push TN on the back-foot. However, TN’s man-in-form, Dinesh Karthik, who walked out to bat at number five, revived the innings in the company of N Jagadeesan. With a 136-run partnership, the fourth wicket pair set up a platform for a competitive total. Jagadeesan was dismissed in the 31st over when he was dismissed by Chama Milind; the TN wicket-keeper made 55 from 62 balls.

The TN skipper then joined Karthik and helped build the innings further; the fifth wicket pair added 66 runs in 8.3 overs. Their blossoming stand was ended by Axar Patel, who sent back Dinesh for 126. Dinda then trapped Vijay Shankar lbw off the first ball of the next to leave the team on 241 for six with a little more than 10 overs left in the innings.

Baba Indrajith then rallied on with the lower-order to take the team past the 300-run mark. Even as Kulkarni and Co kept picking up wickets to keep TN in check, Indrajith finished unbeaten on 31 (off 30 balls) as he boosted the total. With last man Sai Kishore, Indrajith added 20 runs in an unbroken partnership to take Tamil Nadu to 303-9.

India ‘B’ were jolted early in their run-chase when pacer M Mohammed dismissed the India ‘B’ captain, Parthiv Patel in the fourth over, to leave them at 19 for one. Manish Pandey then joined Shikhar Dhawan in carrying the innings forward; the pair had added 64 for the second wicket and kept the chase on course until opener was sent back by Shah. Sai Kishore then accounted for Ishank Jaggi to leave the team on 84 for three in the 12th over. India ‘B’s woes continued as Pandey retired hurt for 23 after adding a further nine runs to the total with Harpreet Singh Bhatia. 

Gurkeerat Mann, then joined forces with Bhatia to keep the side in the fray and the pair had put together 72 runs before the latter was sent back by Ashwin leaving the side on 165 for four. Sundar followed up with the wicket of Axar in the next over to peg back the side further. But, Akshay Karnewar joined Mann in the middle to put up a fight; their 56-run partnership was broken by M Mohammed as India ‘B’ were reduced to 222 for six. 

With his side on the backfoot, Pandey returned to the crease in the 43rd over to take the chase forward. Shah then dealt a double blow to tip the balance in TN’s favour; he claimed Mann and Pandey to leave India ‘B’ at 233 for eight. 

Sai Kishore then sent back Kulkarni, while Vijay Shankar claimed Dinda to wrap-up India ‘B’ for 261 and seal victory. 

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article

Centurion Aparajith sets-up victory overs SL in Emerging Teams Asia Cup

Aswin Crist, Kanishk Seth bowl India U-23 to victory

India opened their account in the Emerging Teams Asia Cup with a 35-run win against Sri Lanka in Bangladesh. Put in to bat, skipper Baba Aparajith propelled the team to 288 for nine with a century to set the game up for his side. The Aswin Crist and Kanishk Seth-led attack then bowled the team to victory. The pacers claimed three wickets each while spinner R Chahar took two wickets.

Earlier, India lost the wicket of AR Easwaran to Asitha Fernando with just nine runs on the board. Shubham Gill then joined Shivam Chowdhary in an effort to build a platform for a solid total. The duo added 57 for the second wicket until Amila Aponsu castled the No 3 bat to leave India on 66 for two. The opener then forged a 52-run stand with the skipper before he was run out for 56.

After the departure of Chowdhary, Aparajith found an able ally in Hanuma Vihari to build on the foundation. The pair added 119 runs for the fourth wicket until Vihari was bowled for 56 by Wannidu De Silva. Two runs later Ankush Bains was trapped lbw by Aponsu and the captain followed him back to the pavilion 20 balls later. Aparajith was dismissed for 100 by Chamika Karunarathne leaving India on 256 for six with a little over four overs left in the innings. As the lower order strove to add quick useful runs to the total, India continued to lose wickets and were 288 for nine at the end of their 50 overs.

Defending the competitive total, Aswin struck in the first over to leave Sri Lanka on one for one while, Seth accounted for Sadeera Samarawickrama 26 runs later. As India looked for breakthroughs, Shehan Jayasuria and Charith Asalanka stitched a partnership in an effort to shape the chase. They had put together 89 runs for the third wicket until Jayasuria was out lbw to R Chahar. The Indian bowlers then continued to strike at regular intervals and maintained a hold on the innings.

Angelo Perera's run out then left Sri Lanka on 142 for four while Kithruwan Vithanage too was run out by Easwaran a few overs later. Asalanka who had held up one end was sent back by Seth to tip the balance in India's favour. Nine runs later Chahar accounted for Anuk Fernando while Seth dismantled Chamika Karunarathne's stumps to leave SL on 242 for eight. Aswin then wrapped up the game with the wickets of De Silva and Aponsu.

Man of the match: Baba Aparajith for his match-winning century.

BCCI Staff

CommentsBack to article